The Lucky Ones by Tiffany Reisz

35083342.jpg

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

This is a romance-thriller that had just enough of both to keep you wondering into the next chapters to find out what was going to happen next!

Seven children, The Lucky Ones, had been either orphaned or abandoned by their parents and sent into different home-care systems.  Until the day when each of their lives would change thanks to a legendary brain surgeon named Dr. Capello.  Dr. Capello helped each and every one of these children and then offered his home to them as sanctuary.  The house was named The Dragon, which sat along the beach in Oregon.

Allison was the youngest of the seven to live with Dr. Capello after he whisked her away from a foster home.  She was living in the home because her mother had died and her aunt was too old to care for her and so she went to live in The Dragon with Dr. Capello and his children.

Then something happens to Allison, sending her to live with aunt who lets Allison know that she will never be returning to the house again.  Then, thirteen years later Allison receives a letter in the mail from her foster brother, Dr. Capello’s oldest son, telling her that their ‘father’ is ill and is in his last days.

Although Allison is determined to go back to The Dragon, the ghosts of the past creep back into her mind.  This makes the trip even more crucial, she needs to find out what happened all those years ago, she needs to know if someone was really trying to kill her.  Digging into these truths uncover a lot more than Allison was hoping for.  This tale that will take you up into a dark attic filled with secrets of love and also grief.

I’m not really a romance genre type, but this had just enough of this mixed with mystery that I was eagerly reading to find out what was going to happen next.

 

Published February 13th 2018 by Mira Books

Advertisements

The Storm King by Brendan Duffy

35412421.jpg

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Dear readers, if you enjoy a good mystery pick this book up right now!

Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, atmospheric novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben.

Nate McHale thought he had put his past and the secrets along with it way behind him when he left his home town of Greystone Lake.  Then, a body is discovered deep in the forest that surrounds the lake, drawing Nate the “Storm King” back home and how fitting could it be that a hurricane is thrashing on the horizon.

If Nate had his way, he would have never returned to Greystone Lake.  There are too many bad memories, memories of his family’s death, his high school girlfriend’s disappearance and then there’s the deep dark secrets the “Storm King” holds.  This homecoming brings Greystone Lake to it’s knees as chaos brews and stories are brought to the surface from the Lake that always returns what it takes……..

This is a hair raising story that you won’t be able to put down.  I’m telling you, this story will have your mind reeling with the pandemonium and secrets that are unfolded for us right before our eyes.  Fantastic writing and I cannot wait to read Brendan Duffy’s other book, “House of Echoes”!  Highly recommend!

Published February 6th 2018 by Ballantine Books

 

 

 

Hour Glass by Michelle Rene

35594552

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Have you ever read a book that makes the words in your mind sound out with a twang accent as you read?  This one will do that for you, it’s quite strange how authors can do that to us!

‘Hour Glass’ is set in the wild wild west of Deadwood, South Dakota.  This story revolves around Miss Calamity Jane, two young children and a handful of townspeople; weaving a tale that is sure to grab at your heart strings and it may also make you fall out of your chair!

Jimmy Glass and his sister Hour are in a race against time to get their sick father to Deadwood, a town not far from their home, to get him the help he needs.  Thankfully they happen upon the iconic Calamity Jane and her friend, Dora who find them a safe place to stay and work while their father tries to fight off his sickness in quarantine.  I will warn you, Miss Jane has a mouth on her, but you’ll soon find out where Hour will come into place to help with those curse words!

Jimmy and Hour face several tragedies but the sense of family you will feel from the characters welcoming these two into their lives will make you smile.  Among all the chaos that surrounds Deadwood, the fragile life or death line their father lays upon and the unknown future; brings an unexpected story leading to unbreakable bonds for Jimmy, Hour and the folks they meet on their journey; including the infamous Calamity Jane!

*Expected publication: February 20th 2018 by Amberjack Publishing

 

 

The Wolves of Winter by Tyrell Johnson

32920273

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Forget the old days. Forget summer. Forget warmth. Forget anything that doesn’t help you survive.

This was a fantastic story!  Although post apocalyptic, current events in the world make this story a little more believable and close to reality.  In Tyrell Johnson’s debut book, “The Wolves of Winter”, you will not want to put this down until you reach the end!

After a war that became nuclear, a flu pandemic started to sweep across the world taking many lives including Lynn McBride’s father.  Lynn, her mother and brother flee to Alaska to live with an uncle learning skills of survival before relocating to a remote region of the Yukon.  It is believed that living in the colder regions, the flu cannot survive.  Although life for Lynn has become colder, she learns to hunt very well.  They even manage a garden and milk from their goats.

Lynn’s family has not seen many people since they made a homestead in the Yukon until one day Lynn stumbles upon a man and his wolf dog in the forest, who goes by the name of Jax.  Not long after, a group of more men show up looking for him.  Soon everyone is using all the survival strategies they know to fight for freedom from a group called ‘Immunity’, intent on capturing Jax at all cost.

Lynn soon discovers a secret that her family has been hiding from her ever since her father died.  He was a biologist who took to his basement after the flu pandemic, but Lynn never really knew what he was working on, until now.  Now….’Immunity’ is after her, but why?

I loved all the Walt Whitman quotes at the beginning of each chapter as well.  The ending of the novel leaves enough of an opening for possibly another book, which I really hope there is.  There is so much more I want to tell you that I enjoyed about this story, but it will give too much away for readers to find out on their own!  Followers, give this book a shot I can guarantee you will not be disappointed!

The Worm and the Bird by Coralie Bickford-Smith

34443968

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

A new, beautifully illustrated picture book from the bestselling author of The Fox and the Star, winner of Waterstones Book of the Year 2015.

Via Goodreads

Deep below the earth, Worm dreams of having more space. There’s not much room down there.

Above, Bird waits, through sun and rain and wind.

As the day goes on, will they both find what they are looking for?

From the author of The Fox and the Star, this is a book about searching and hoping, and how the smallest moment can be beautiful.

Absolutely beautiful cover, and gorgeous illustrations. A somewhat dark tale about the importance of devoting time to the things that really matter.  It’s a bit about mindfulness and the desire for solitude too I think.  I may even be seeing the story though adult eyes and it will mean something completely different to a child!  Poignant and layered and a little bittersweet (at least if you are an adult), it’s added to by the use of metallic ink both on the cover and inside.  It is  just so beautiful!

The Fox and the Star by Coralie Bickford-Smith

25387851

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

A beautiful children’s book about the friendship of a Fox and the Star that guides him through a dark forest.  Fox looks for food, runs with rabbits and dances in the rain until the sky goes dark and suddenly everything starts to change around Fox.  So he sets out to find the light again which carries Fox a journey lit by courage, newfound friends.

Via Goodreads

Inspired by the Arts and Crafts movement and the art of William Blake, The Fox and the Star is a heartwarming, hopeful tale which comes alive through Bickford-Smith’s beloved illustrations, guiding readers both young and grown to “look up beyond your ears.

The art work is amazing in this book, anyone from young to old will find the beauty in this story.   When you handle the cloth bound hardback, it feels like a beautiful old edition of a children’s classic that has been handed down for generations.

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

18659623

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

How can you not be pulled into the cover of this book?  I’m telling you, the cover art is just a glimpse of what you will find in the pages of this dark compilation of tales!

I should tell you that this is considered a graphic novel and has won many awards including: Bram Stoker Award Nominee for Best Graphic Novel (2014)Milwaukee County Teen Book Award (2015)Lincoln Award Nominee (2017)Green Carnation Prize Nominee for Longlist (2014)Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards for Best Graphic Album-Reprint (2015)  Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Graphic Novels & Comics (2014)IGN Award for Best Original Graphic Novel (2014)

There are five tales told though the most bizarre and chilling graphics that I couldn’t stop reading until I reached the end!  The artwork is magnificent.  If I had words to describe these tales to you….fairy-tales gone all wrong….would be it. Delightfully creepy reading guaranteed that is for sure!

Photo of my copy:

26063421_10155009550086479_8029427592971436544_o