The Saint of Wolves and Butchers by Alex Grecian

35340667

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

With in just the first few pages I was already getting an eerie feeling in my stomach!  This story is based in Kansas, in a town that’s literally less than an hour away from where I live!  I even have a friend who lives in the TOWN in this story, talk about goosebumps.

The Saint of Wolves and Butchers is a story about Travis Roan and his dog bear who travel all around the world ‘hunting’ evildoers, bringing them to justice.  Travis and Bear have been called to a town in Kansas, following the trail of a man called Rudolph Bormann, a Nazi doctor and concentration camp administration who is secretly living in the US under the name of Rudy Goodman in the 1950’s.  One day in a cafe, a woman recognizes him, which is where Travis’s story starts.

Although once in Kansas, Travis learns that Rudy has friends in high places that will go to any length to protect him.  He also discovers that Rudy is still continuing his diabolical work at a church where the followers believe he has God-like powers.  Caught between these two is Kansas State Trooper Skottie Foster, she plans to do whatever it takes to help Travis, even if it means losing her job, putting her and her family in a danger she never could of imagined.

This is an interesting story placed in an unlikely town in Kansas, where a secret has been hidden for years that is now being uncovered.  It’s pretty fast paced to where you won’t want to put the book down, there really never was any down time in the story!  I’m really going to have to check out more books from this author, he seems pretty keened into making readers want to jump out of their skin! Alex Grecian weaves together a strong tale of past and present to bring historical fiction into a modern mystery!

 

Published April 17th 2018 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons

Advertisements

The Hamilton Affair by Elizabeth Cobbs

Book-Club

28695340

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥

We read this book for last months book club pick!  I didn’t necessarily dislike the story, although I did learn insight into who Alexander Hamilton was and became.  Although I think I was more drawn to his wife, Elizabeth and her story.  The title of the book puts it as plainly as anyone could of guessed, Hamilton has an affair which causes turmoil and ultimately ending in his death.  Hamilton came to America to pursue his education and along the way became a hero of sorts and one of the most controversial leaders of the American Revolution.

Then we get to learn more about his wife Elizabeth Schuyler Hamilton, daughter of one of New York’s most exalted families—feisty, adventurous, and loyal to a fault.  When she met Alexander, she fell head over heels. She pursued him despite his illegitimacy, and loved him despite his infidelity.  In 1816 (two centuries ago), she shamed Congress into supporting his seven orphaned children.  Elizabeth Schuyler Hamilton started New York’s first orphanage. The only “founding mother” to truly embrace public service, she raised 160 children in addition to her own.

The Hamilton Affair tells the tumultuous true love story of Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler, from tremulous beginning to bittersweet ending—his at a dueling ground on the shores of the Hudson River, hers more than half a century later after a brave, successful life.

 

The Good People by Hannah Kent

33784272

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥

I think what I expected from the book was a little bit more thrill, a little bit more lore.  The story line was good, but I never really had the feeling that ‘I needed to get up and check the random noises of the house’ type.

The Good People is a story taking place in Ireland 1825, about Nora Leahy who has lost her daughter and husband in the same year.  She now has to care for her daughters 4 year old son who can’t walk or talk.  Nora tries her best to keep him hidden from the hateful gossips she knows would start from his deformity, whom they may think was caused by ‘otherworldly’ things.

Unable to care for the child alone, Nora hires a 14 year old servant girl, Mary, who soon hears the whispers in the valley about the blasted creature causing grief to fall upon the widow’s house.  Mary and Nora seek out the only person in the valley who might be able to help the boy. For although her neighbors are wary of her, it is said that old Nance Roche has the knowledge. That she consorts with Them, the Good People. And that only she can return those whom they have taken.

What Should Be Wild by Julia Fine

35068762

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

This is quite the unusual story.  Although I like the story line, I did feel like in some places, the story rambled on leading me to lose interest but then a few more pages and I was back into the story!

Maisie Cothay has never been allowed to touch anything, humans included.  She was born with the power to kill or resurrect almost anything with just the slightest touch.  In trying to keep her safe, her family sequesters her in the family’s manor at the edge of a mysterious forest.

Her father, an anthropologist sees her more as an experiment that a daughter.  He also strictly warns that she is never to go venturing into the woods behind their home.  Locals have told stories of people disappearing within and then coming back out with bizarre stories.  What Maisie’s father doesn’t tell her is that for hundreds of years, her female ancestors have also vanished into the wood, although none of them ever returned – for Maisie is descended from a long line of cursed women…..

Then one day Maisie disappears and returns several days later as if nothing has happened.  While gone, her father goes into the woods in search of his daughter.  Maisie must venture beyond the walls of all she has ever known and into the forbidden woods as she slowly uncovers the truth.

Annihilation (Southern Reach #1) by Jeff VanderMeer

17934530

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

I’m finally getting to this trilogy on my to-be-read list!  I cannot wait to read the next book!

Welcome to Area X……cut off from the rest of the continent for a very long time since the event.  Mother nature has reclaimed the land and is turning it into something beyond the reaches of our minds and the world we are familiar with.  The first expedition returned to say that the land was amazing, almost untouched and fairy tale like.  Then, all the members of the second expedition commit suicide and the third, all dead in a hail of gunfire as they all turned on each other.  So the pattern goes as the eleventh expedition return as shadows or even shells of their former selves and within months, all die from an aggressive cancer.

This is the story of the twelfth expedition.  A group made up of four women an anthropologist; a surveyor; a psychologist, and the narrator, a biologist. Their mission is to map the terrain and collect specimens; to record all their observations, scientific and otherwise, of their surroundings and of one another; and, above all, to avoid being contaminated by Area X itself.

The group arrived with only the information that was drilled into their minds before they arrived.  Within a few short days, things start to take a drastic turn…they discover a massive topographic anomaly and life forms that surpass understanding—but it’s the surprises that came across the border with them, and the secrets the expedition members are keeping from one another, that change everything.

What is the true nature of their mission, what have they not been told by the people who sent them to Area X……..there are too many secrets and nothing makes any sense to them.

The Lucky Ones by Tiffany Reisz

35083342.jpg

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

This is a romance-thriller that had just enough of both to keep you wondering into the next chapters to find out what was going to happen next!

Seven children, The Lucky Ones, had been either orphaned or abandoned by their parents and sent into different home-care systems.  Until the day when each of their lives would change thanks to a legendary brain surgeon named Dr. Capello.  Dr. Capello helped each and every one of these children and then offered his home to them as sanctuary.  The house was named The Dragon, which sat along the beach in Oregon.

Allison was the youngest of the seven to live with Dr. Capello after he whisked her away from a foster home.  She was living in the home because her mother had died and her aunt was too old to care for her and so she went to live in The Dragon with Dr. Capello and his children.

Then something happens to Allison, sending her to live with aunt who lets Allison know that she will never be returning to the house again.  Then, thirteen years later Allison receives a letter in the mail from her foster brother, Dr. Capello’s oldest son, telling her that their ‘father’ is ill and is in his last days.

Although Allison is determined to go back to The Dragon, the ghosts of the past creep back into her mind.  This makes the trip even more crucial, she needs to find out what happened all those years ago, she needs to know if someone was really trying to kill her.  Digging into these truths uncover a lot more than Allison was hoping for.  This tale that will take you up into a dark attic filled with secrets of love and also grief.

I’m not really a romance genre type, but this had just enough of this mixed with mystery that I was eagerly reading to find out what was going to happen next.

 

Published February 13th 2018 by Mira Books

The Storm King by Brendan Duffy

35412421.jpg

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Dear readers, if you enjoy a good mystery pick this book up right now!

Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, atmospheric novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben.

Nate McHale thought he had put his past and the secrets along with it way behind him when he left his home town of Greystone Lake.  Then, a body is discovered deep in the forest that surrounds the lake, drawing Nate the “Storm King” back home and how fitting could it be that a hurricane is thrashing on the horizon.

If Nate had his way, he would have never returned to Greystone Lake.  There are too many bad memories, memories of his family’s death, his high school girlfriend’s disappearance and then there’s the deep dark secrets the “Storm King” holds.  This homecoming brings Greystone Lake to it’s knees as chaos brews and stories are brought to the surface from the Lake that always returns what it takes……..

This is a hair raising story that you won’t be able to put down.  I’m telling you, this story will have your mind reeling with the pandemonium and secrets that are unfolded for us right before our eyes.  Fantastic writing and I cannot wait to read Brendan Duffy’s other book, “House of Echoes”!  Highly recommend!

Published February 6th 2018 by Ballantine Books