The Saint of Wolves and Butchers by Alex Grecian

35340667

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

With in just the first few pages I was already getting an eerie feeling in my stomach!  This story is based in Kansas, in a town that’s literally less than an hour away from where I live!  I even have a friend who lives in the TOWN in this story, talk about goosebumps.

The Saint of Wolves and Butchers is a story about Travis Roan and his dog bear who travel all around the world ‘hunting’ evildoers, bringing them to justice.  Travis and Bear have been called to a town in Kansas, following the trail of a man called Rudolph Bormann, a Nazi doctor and concentration camp administration who is secretly living in the US under the name of Rudy Goodman in the 1950’s.  One day in a cafe, a woman recognizes him, which is where Travis’s story starts.

Although once in Kansas, Travis learns that Rudy has friends in high places that will go to any length to protect him.  He also discovers that Rudy is still continuing his diabolical work at a church where the followers believe he has God-like powers.  Caught between these two is Kansas State Trooper Skottie Foster, she plans to do whatever it takes to help Travis, even if it means losing her job, putting her and her family in a danger she never could of imagined.

This is an interesting story placed in an unlikely town in Kansas, where a secret has been hidden for years that is now being uncovered.  It’s pretty fast paced to where you won’t want to put the book down, there really never was any down time in the story!  I’m really going to have to check out more books from this author, he seems pretty keened into making readers want to jump out of their skin! Alex Grecian weaves together a strong tale of past and present to bring historical fiction into a modern mystery!

 

Published April 17th 2018 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons

Advertisements

People Like Us by Dana Mele

unnamed (1).jpg

unnamed.jpg

 

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Now this was a whirl wind of a ride!  For fans of Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl, you will want to dive into this book as soon as you can get your hands on it.  The story is twisted, thrilling and you won’t know what hit you in it’s completely unexpected ending.

Kay Donovan is the main character, who attends

 

an all girls academy called Bates.  Unlike all the other girls at the school, she is solely relying on her athletic ability and good grades to keep her at Bates where everyone else’s families are wealthy.  She’s the star soccer player who has gorgeous friends and are all high up on the popularity totem pole.

Everything seems picturesque until Kay and her friends discover the body of a girl in the lake next to Bates Academy. Then….Kay’s life she’s built begins to topple into chaos when the dead girl sends her an e-mail including a password coded link to a scavenger hunt website that implicated suspect after suspect in the case against who killed the girl they found in the lake.  It gets worse when Kay finds herself in the cross hairs of the murder investigation.

Will Kay let herself be backed into a corner and accused of a crime that she didn’t commit or will she do whatever it takes to keep herself from becoming the next victim to uncover the real murder?  Kay may have skeletons in her closet, but you will have to find out for yourself what secrets she hides as well as play the game along with her to uncover the truth behind everything……

Expected publication: February 27th 2018 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

about_title-rev01

16527452

Dana Mele is a Pushcart-nominated writer and a work at home mother. A graduate of Wellesley College, she is a former actor, lawyer, musician, and briefly, associate producer. She prefers tea to coffee, snow to sand, and stars to sunshine, and she lives in the Catskills with her husband and toddler. This is her first novel.

Here’s the People Like Us tumblr: https://jessicalanefinalproject.tumblr.com/

 

 

A Babysitter’s Guide to Monster Hunting (Babysitter’s Guide to Monsters #1) by Joe Ballarini

32319716

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

This was a FANTASTICALLY  entertaining book! I cannot wait to share this with a girl I know who is just getting into the ‘Goosebumps’ books, she will love this!

Main character Kelly Ferguson is in middle school and has been working hard at earning money to go to camp, which is high dollar.  Kelly’s life changes in flash one Halloween, when she is asked to babysit instead of going to a Halloween Party with a friend.  Disappointment and a tug between earning money for camp or hanging out with her crush is all Kelly was worried about.  Little did she know, she was about to experience babysitting at a whole new level!

Baby Jacob was easiest enough for Kelly to handle, but then once she put him to bed, the night took a turn for the worse when Jacob is kidnapped by the Boogyman’s minions called Toadies!  Now, with the help of the Babysitter’s Guide to Monster Hunting and a secret society of Monster Hunting babysitters, Kelly’s new mission is to get Baby Jacob back safe and sound before his parents come home!

This book puts a fun twist on the babysitting gig!  Readers will love the fast paced amusing story.  Hop into the story and grab a flash light…….you’re going to need it!

*Film adaptation starring Keegan Michael Key in the works.*

The Photo Ark: One Man’s Quest to Document the World’s Animals by Joel Sartore (National Geographic)

30719045

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

This is a book that should be on everyone’s coffee tables and book shelves!  I found it on the ‘new’ release shelf at my local library, being an animal lover I had to check it out.  National Geographic the Photo ark is a lifelong project, already spanning 25 years, of photographer Joel Sartore.  It is his goal to take portraits of the world’s animals, especially those that are endangered and put them at our fingertips.  Joel has a powerful message sprawling through this fantastic book conveyed with humor, compassion and art.  Joel hopes we will look into the eyes of these animals, to know these animals, in order to save them.

Sartore’s intends to photograph every animal in captivity around the world.  He is visiting zoos and wildlife rescue centers to create studio portraits of 12,000 species, with an emphasis on those facing extinction.  He has photographed more than 6,000 already and now, thanks to a multi-year partnership with National Geographic, he may reach his goal.

As I was going through the book, I happened upon an Albino North American Porcupine with the caption “This albino porcupine is named Halsey for the spot in Nebraska near where she was rescued after being hit on the highway.  Today Halsey is thriving, despite a dental condition that prevents her from ever being returned to the wild.”  This caught me off guard because I happen to live in Nebraska!  Not only that, but as I kept reading I read more captions and descriptions of animals that were photographed at Omaha’s Henry Doorly Zoo & Aquarium (Nebraska),  Nebraska Wildlife Rehab in Louisville (Nebraska) and the Lincoln’s Children Zoo (Nebraska).

Then, after finishing the book, I read about the photographer and author Joel Sartore.  He is a photographer, author, teacher, conservationist, National Geographic Fellow and a regular contributor to National Geographic magazine.  He is the founder of this project, the Photo Ark, has contributed to Audubon magazine, Sports Illustrated, the New York Times, Smithsonian magazine and numerous book projects.  Are you ready for the icing on the cake????  Joel is always happy to return from his travels around the world to his home in Lincoln, Nebraska, where his lives with is wife and their three children.

I cannot stress enough how amazing this book was, especially from the fact that this project is being conducted by a fellow Nebraskan.  I look forward to seeing more of Joel Sartore’s work in the future!

 

 

 

 

 

The Best Man by Richard Peck

28251377

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Richard Peck, a Newbery Medalist, has written us readers a novel about gay marriage from a kid’s point of view!

Archer is a 6th grader who has a great life full of friends, family and wonderful teachers.  He soon finds out that his uncle Paul is about to marry another man.  The man he is going to marrying just happens to be Archer’s favorite student teacher.  Not only that, but Archer is to be the ring bearer!

The big talking point of the book will be that Archer realizes that his favorite uncle is gay, but this really wasn’t main point of the story. Yes, the uncle gets married to a man, but this was addressed in such a supportive and accepting way that it was never an “issue”. It’s just a part of life, no big deal to him.

This is a great book that emphasize the importance of family, no matter what the circumstance thrown their way.  A controversial topic handled with honesty, humor, and insight.   Richard Peck is an excellent story teller, the mundane and everyday ordinary lives of his characters are so real and well written!

The Night Parade by Ronald Malfi

27405533

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

First the birds disappeared.
Then the insects took over.
Then the madness began . . .

There is a new plague threatening to wipe out the human race…they call it “Wanderer’s Folly”.  It’s a disease of hallucinations, day dreams and nightmares.

Father and daughter, David and Ellie Arlen are on the run right from the start of the book.  Which is followed  by flashbacks revealing the events that lead to David running. The story continues like this, back and forth. David thinks he is protecting Ellie but she is a special girl, deep, insightful and she knows that he is lying to her.  She knows that her father is lying to her about her mother and exactly what they are running from.  Ellie is special….Ellie may be able to save the human race.

This book had me hooked from the beginning, it was eerie and full of surprises.  I have previously read his book “Little Girls”, which was fantastic as well!  The Night Parade could be a thriller or a horror novel, it was both and more!  I cannot wait to dig into some more books by Ronald Malfi, his writing is easy to follow as well as the story lines.  Check him out and all the books including this one that he has written!

The Outliers (The Outliers #1) by Kimberly McCreight

26116473

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

I didn’t realize until I got this book that I had previously read Kimberly McCreight’s, Reconstructing Amelia!  This book also didn’t disappoint!

Wylie is dealing with the death of her mother in a car accident while also dealing with mental issues. The high school junior has been seeing a therapist since she was in elementary school. Wylie has a tendency to throw up or pass out when the situation gets stressful. Since the death of her mother, she has also developed agoraphobia and has not left the house for weeks.

After getting a strange text from her ex-best friend Cassie begging for help, this ex- best friend sends her boyfriend Jasper to help.   The two get to know each other better as they travel from Boston up into Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine following Cassie’s cryptic clues. Along the way they meet people who help them and people who hinder them. When they find Cassie, they learn that all of their problems are just beginning.

This was an entertaining story about the length someone will go for their friends. It also take sort of a science fiction twist before its cliffhanging conclusion.  This is the first in a trilogy and it did seem like there was a lot of setting up happening for future plots but overall, it made me excited to see where the series goes from here!