Author Interview…Glenn Rolfe, author of “Blood & Rain” + Giveaway!

glenn bw profile

I ‘m a father of 3, loving husband, and a horror writer with a rock-n-roll heart. When I’m not busy giving readers the creeps, I like to make people laugh. I have a hard time being serious and this makes my wife all the more amazing for putting up with me.

author-interview

Sierra:  When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

Glenn: I started writing in May of 2011. I finished that story (which was the original draft of Blood and Rain) in late August of that year. It was an amazing feeling. It feels good each time you get to write THE END.

Sierra:  Tell us a little bit about your first book or the first book in the series.

Glenn: Blood and Rain is about a small town Maine sheriff, Joe Fischer, who runs into a bunch of wild killings at the hands of a beast. He quickly realizes that it’s a monster and is successful in putting an end to it—or so he thought! Seven years later, more killings done in the same grisly manner happen under a full moon. Sheriff Fischer’s worst nightmare is happening. He’s held secrets from those who trust him most, now he must decide what is best for the town and his teenage daughter.

One Night can–and will–change it all

Sierra: How did you choose the genre you write in?

Glenn: I’ve always enjoyed spooky stories over anything else. When I was a kid, my favorites were the Bunnicula stories.  As an adult, I fell for the Leisure Book Horror line and Rice and King. When I started writing, that’s what I wanted to do.

Sierra: What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write?

Glenn: I really enjoyed the werewolf attacks. Maybe that makes me strange, but I made sure to go for it.

Sierra:  Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?

Glenn: I’ve thrown in names and pieces of all sorts of places and people I’m familiar with. As a writer, that just happens. There’s probably a little bit of me in each of these characters.
Sierra: Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Glenn: Reading King is always a lesson in how good storytelling should be done. He makes everything seem interesting. That part also tends to kill new writers who try to copy it. Not everyone can write interesting backgrounds and side treks.

Sierra: Do you ever experience writers block?

Glenn: Not yet. I have too many crazy thoughts.

Sierra: Is there an author that you would really like to meet?

Glenn: That’s a funny one. I interact quite often online with two of them, but I’d love to chill out and hang with Ronald Malfi and Brian Moreland.

Sierra: Will you have a new book coming out soon? If so, can you tell us about it?

Glenn: The next project is a novella called, Things We Fear. It is supposed to be out in March of 2016.

Sierra: If you could go back and do it all over again, is there any aspect of your first novel or getting it published that you would change?

Glenn: No. I like where I am and that wouldn’t be the same if I didn’t walk the path I chose.

Sierra: Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Glenn: Take your story one line at a time. Have faith that the story will tell you where it wants to go (and who it wants to kill). Take your time between drafts. Let the story percolate a bit. Know that not everyone is going to love your story, so make sure that YOU do. I’d avoid self-publishing unless you already have an audience. Once you land with a publisher, don’t be afraid to try to land more work with a different publisher. It’s never safe to have all of your eggs in one basket.

Sierra: Is there anything you would like to say to your readers and fans?

Glenn: Thanks for reading my work. Thanks for telling your friends. And thanks for being honest with me when something doesn’t work for you. I appreciate your time and your voice.

Stay tuned for much more of my madness!

bood and rain

Click on the book cover to read my review!

Blood and Rain tour logo

Purchase Links

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Blood-Rain-Glenn-Rolfe/dp/1619229854/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1443335652&sr=8-1&keywords=blood+and+rain

Barnes & Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/blood-and-rain-glenn-rolfe/1122198363?ean=9781619229853#productInfoTabs

Samhain

https://www.samhainpublishing.com/book/5587/blood-and-rain

Best-Of-2014-The-Giveaway-Banner

Giveaway!!!

For a chance to win a print copy of Glenn Rolfe’s short story collection, Slush, or a chance to win your choice of any of his titles in e-book format, go to the link below for the Rafflecopter sign-up. Good luck! The print copy is only good for those in the United States. Questions can be referred to Erin Al-Mehairi, publicist, at hookofabook(at)hotmail(dot)com.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/231aa30b22/?

Leave a Reply

