Breaking Creed (Ryder Creed #1) by Alex Kava

22521948

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

I recently attended an author signing where Alex Kava was speaking.  I have read most of her Maggie O’Dell books, but this new series is just as good, if not better!

This is the first installment of the Ryder Creed series.  This book is also a great way for people who haven’t read the author’s Maggie O’Dell series to be introduced to that character because she is in this book as well. As much as I like Ryder Creed as his own character, I hope Maggie will make at least periodic appearances in this new series because the two characters work really well together!

Ryder Creed has a soft heart for dogs of all shapes and sizes and he knows how to train them as drug dogs, cadaver dogs, search-and-rescue dogs.  To tell you the truth, this is why I wanted to read this series, dog lover!  In this book, Ryder and Maggie are working with the DEA on drug smuggling and a case he was involved with ends up intersecting with a case that Maggie is on so the two end up working a search together.   This book is engaging, suspenseful, and entertaining to mystery and animal lovers alike.

As always, Alex’s writing is smooth, scenes flow logically, pages seem to turn by themselves!  This was a seriously good book, my heart was racing at the end and I was glad I had already purchased the second book in the series or I would be a mess!  I can’t wait to see what the next thriller has in store for these characters.  I finished this first book last night and was dreaming about spiders hatching and snakes….thanks Alex Kava, you’ve done it again!

Leave a Reply

