The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins

23363928

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

The cover of the book and the fact that ‘library’ was in the title is what drew me into this book.  I had no idea what I was getting myself into.  Now that I’m finished, I still don’t know what I got myself into!  This has got to be the most unique, intriguing and original story I have ever read.

“Adoption Day” is pretty much the last memory the Carolyn and her friends have.  The day several children found themselves being raised by a man they now call “Father”.  Father does some very strange things, like raise the dead for example.  If you disobeyed him, you were likely to suffer extreme consequences.

Carolyn hasn’t gotten out much. Instead, she and her adopted siblings have been raised according to Father’s ancient Pelapi customs. They’ve studied the books in his library and learned some of the secrets behind his equally ancient power. These children wondered if “Father” wasn’t actually “God”.  I was wondering the whole time that they might be right.  Some ‘sort’ of God that is.

Father has now gone missing and they aren’t sure if he’s alive or dead.  The only thing that is on their minds is who will inherit his library and with it, power over all of creation.  Carolyn is sure she can win, most people underestimate her anyways.

There is so much awesomeness that goes on in this book, I cannot even begin to explain it all.  This is a must read, best book of the year so far!  I’m telling you, if you are looking for a book that will completely turn your mind, here it is!  Amazing.

Leave a Reply

