The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler

23014670

The book is a beautifully broken window with an obstructed view of what is killing us, and something is definitely killing us.

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

I would like to thank the author for sending me her book! Right from the start this book draws you in and I simply couldn’t stop reading.  This unusual story, revolves around a very old book and the people connected to it.

Simon Watson lives under the weight of his family’s past. His mother, a circus performer, drowned when he and his little sister Enola were children, leaving the family heartbroken and even more dysfunctional. Her death is strange because as the circus’ mermaid she was able to hold her breath for long periods of time. When Simon receives an old book from a complete stranger, he discovers that his family’s cursed past and present are blended in unexpected ways. The book leads him to suspect that Enola may be in danger.

After doing some digging, Simon discovers that the book is a daily diary of sorts detailing the events of a travelling circus in the 1800s. Moving back and forth in time between Simon’s current life and the story of the people within the book, this is a fascinating story that is both well developed and well constructed.  Fans of “Water For Elephants” and “The Night Circus” should find extreme enjoyment from this book!  I loved the writing style, the incorporation of sketches and passages in handwriting.  This book is haunting and certainly builds in tension and intrigue.  I can’t wait to read more from this talented author!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s