Help for the Haunted by John Searles

hfh

 

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 

I would like to thank the author for sending me this book!  I found about this book on goodreads.com when it was first released and the cover really intrigued me, then I read about it and had to read it! Needless to say, I love a good ghost story!

Help for the Haunted centers around fourteen-year-old Sylvie Mason. When the book begins, readers learn that Sylvie’s family isn’t exactly what one might call typical. Her parent’s are paranormal investigators. At the beginning of the novel, Sylvie’s parents are killed at a local church where they’ve been confronted by a past client. Sylvie is with her parents on the night of the murder and is a key witness in the investigation of her parents’ death. Sylvie, newly orphaned and assigned to her irresponsible, older sister’s custody, spends the rest of the book attempting to make sense of what happened the night her parents were killed. While searching for clues in her parents’ past in order to figure out who had motive to kill them, Sylvie learns surprising details about the personal lives of her parents.

While I was reading I noticed Sylvie’s parents had a bit in common with Ed and Lorraine Warren, the real life paranormal investigators who were the subject of the film The Conjuring. Of course, this book is very different from The Conjuring, because it’s based on fictitious events. The main similarities I noticed were the room full of haunted or possessed items the Masons kept in their house and the creepy haunted doll that was also featured inThe Conjuring. I was fascinated when I finished Help For The Haunted and wondered if the Warrens may have been an inspiration for the novel. After a quick Google search I found a guest post John Searles wrote about his many inspirations for Help For The Haunted and the Warrens were included on his list!

I would highly recommend this book, I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it, especially if you have watched all those ghost shows on TV!

 

Leave a Reply

