Guest Review from a FAN of A SIMPLE TASTE FOR READING, Sarah Kurz…Alice in Zombieland By Gena Showalter

9780373210589_SHC_SMP

Right now, I was the only one capable of seeing the zombies, the only one capable of defeating them – and yes, I was beyond inexperienced.  But this was what I’d wanted.  A chance to save the world.  For better or worse, I’d take it.

Series: White Rabbit Chronicles #1

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Alice Bell wanted nothing more than to be a normal 16-year-old girl, but “normal” definitely wasn’t what she was.  She had spent her entire life hiding indoors after dark, her father afraid of the monsters that lurked outside once the sun had set.  Monsters that Alice believed her alcoholic father had made up in his head until one fateful night when those monsters took her entire family.  The loss of her family leaves Alice living with her grandparents and going to a new school with new friends.  It also opens up the doors for her to truly experience living in the world for the first time, and the world has proven to be a scary place.

It isn’t long before Alice realizes that a few of the kids in her new school aren’t quite “normal” either.  They see what she sees.  They see the monsters.  With the help of resident bad boy Cole Holland and his group of zombie killing friends, Alice begins to train to be a fighter.  She makes it her personal mission to rid the world of each and every zombie while avenging the death of her mother, father, and little sister. She begins to uncover the well kept secrets of the town she lives in and the school she attends, as well as a few surprising secrets of her own.

Alice in Zombieland was one of those captivating reads that had me still up at 2:00am, not wanting to put the book down.  While they say you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover, I did just that.  I was drawn in by the gorgeously eerie cover combined with the idea of a young adult zombie book with a strong female protagonist. While this book definitely falls into the YA category, and I assure you I’m several years past that age, it is sure to be a fun read for all ages.  Some may argue that it was a bit heavy on the high school drama, but I, personally, rather enjoy that aspect of a YA novel.

The character of Alice was without a doubt the best part of the book.  While the story line is an extremely interesting one, Alice is what really impressed me.  I loved the confidence and strength she has despite all of the heartache she experiences.  Her passion towards her family and her mission to end the zombies will have you rooting for her through the entire book.  Unlike many other YA female leads, Alice doesn’t let a little boy trouble or girl drama get in her way.  One thing I pay attention to when I read a YA novel is whether or not I would want my own daughter to someday read it when she is old enough.  Alice in Zombieland definitely makes that list.  I’m anxious to next read Through the Zombieglass and see where Alice’s adventures take her next!

Thank you Sarah for your wonderful review, I am excited to read this book! 😀

2 thoughts on “Guest Review from a FAN of A SIMPLE TASTE FOR READING, Sarah Kurz…Alice in Zombieland By Gena Showalter

  1. I’ve been going back and forth about reading this book: on the one hand, I love Wonderland retellings, but on the other, zombies are one of my least favorite things to read about. Your review made it sound really interesting, though, and I think I might have to give it a shot! 🙂

    • My apologies for being so late with a reply! Did you look into the book? I was a tad disappointed to find that it didn’t actually follow the story of Alice in Wonderland, it simply referred to it, but I still really enjoyed this book. I’m a big fan of zombie stories and, at 32-years-old, still enjoy YA, so I found this to be a nice mix of the two. Last month I read the next novel in the series, Through the Zombieglass, and enjoyed it as well!

Leave a Reply

