We’ll Be the Last Ones to Let You Down: A Memoir of a Gravedigger’s Daughter By Rachael Hanel

16128891

 

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 

I would like to thank the author, Rachael Hanel for sending me her book.  Keep an eye out as she will be a featured author of the month!

This book had my life written all over it.  My parents own a monument company and growing up, I spent a lot of time in cemeteries since I was too young to stay at home.  Rachael’s story is a bit different from mine though.  Her dad actually dug the graves where as my dad places the memorial in the cemeteries.  Needless to say, I felt well connected to this book.  You don’t meet a lot of people who can share the “I grew up running around cemeteries playing” story.  Like her, I would pose for pictures in the cemetery, maybe even on an interesting monument, just for fun.  Even when my parents would take me camping, where would we pull over to have lunch?  A cemetery.  In her book Rachael tells about her life and how her dad, being a gravedigger, affects their lives and others.  As a result, Rachael grew up surrounded by death; playing in cemeteries and attending wakes in her small Minnesota town of Waseca. She thought she knew what death was and knew there was nothing to be afraid of. But personal tragedy leads her to realize that death and grief are not the same things at all. This book is her personal journey to understanding death and grief through the stories of the residents of Waseca, both living and dead, and her own family’s journey through grief.

For those of you who do not live strange lives like Rachael and I,  you must check out this book.  There is something for everyone to take away from her story and will leave you to pondering.  A very enjoyable ‘real-life’ read!!

One thought on “We’ll Be the Last Ones to Let You Down: A Memoir of a Gravedigger’s Daughter By Rachael Hanel

  1. Pingback: Featured Author of the Month…Rachael Hanel | A Simple Taste for Reading

Leave a Reply

