Joyland by Stephen King

112-joyland

 

“I’ll tell you the sad story of the Joyland ghost while you eat, if you want to hear it.”

“Is it really a ghost story?”

“I’ve never been in that damn funhouse, so I don’t know for sure.  But it’s a murder story.  That much I am sure of.”

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

I thought this was a very well written story from King.  I will tell you though, I was a bit disappointed but then not…in a way.  I know you should never judge a book by it’s cover, but the cover very much pulls you in to what you think is going to be another great “scary” novel of King’s.  I was looking forward to reading all about murder and spooky funhouses, when really this novel was more of a “coming of age” novel and was not so much based on the actual funhouse murder.  I’m not going to spoil it for you, as you do get to read about the ghost and murder.  If you are like me, going into reading this book as you think it might be spooky, you will find something else.  I will tell you though, I did enjoy this book, it was very moving!  I am going to recommend this book as it is something different in all it’s entirety.  Stephen King has written a riveting story of love, loss, growing up and growing old and those who don’t get to do either as death comes for them before their time.  Joyland brings people together and pulls unsuspected characters out of the woodwork.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Joyland by Stephen King

  1. Sounds interesting! I’ll read some horror every now and again but am a sucker for coming-of-age-type tales, so this one’s going on my to-read list. Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

