Featured Author of the Month…Annelie Wendeberg, Interview

da1de710aef70ad8986cd6.L._V388749410_SX200_

 

Sierra: Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Annelie: DO IT! Be thorough with editing. Get a beautiful cover. And publish! Never! Loose! Hope! Be creative, let it out, and share it with your readers. Don’t expect to get rich. Don’t expect much at all. Just share and give what you have. The payoff will come.

 

 

I would like to introduce to you my featured author of the month,  Annelie Wendeberg.  Author of many books, including one that I have reviewed: The Devil’s Grin!  Check out my amazing interview with her and take a look at my review of “The Devil’s Grin”!

Sierra: When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

Annelie: The idea to write fiction was born in December 2011 and my first book was published 9 months later.

Sierra: Tell us a little bit about your first book or the first book in the series.

Annelie: The title is The Devil’s Grin. It is a story about a strong woman who tries to stop an organised crime. In a time when medicine just discovered bacteria as the cause of disease and first vaccines are developed, initial ideas for systematic bacterial warfare are born and the medical establishment isn’t too prudish to use paupers as test subjects. What follows is a complex interplay between hunter and prey, both prepared to sacrifice whatever it takes to get what they strive for, while the chase is blurring the contrast between good and evil.

Sierra: How did you choose the genre you write in?

Annelie: That sounds like I planned much, but I didn’t. The story appeared one December morning, just after we moved into our house from 1529, and wanted to be written. It’s really quite strange…

Sierra: What was your favourite chapter (or part) to write?

Annelie: Chapter seven, because of a short love scene that ends with Anna saying this about her lover:

“To me, all about him was gentle and rough at the same time, and, every so often, he, with his orange mane and his coarse tongue and paws, made me think of a lion.”

Followed by her ruminating about her crazy life:

“I was a woman who masqueraded as a man. I was a scientist and a medical doctor who was occasionally consulted by Scotland Yard. And I was trying to solve a crime of which the Yard had no knowledge, and working on that same case with Sherlock Holmes, while fucking a highly accomplished thief […] I wondered on to which shore life would puke me up some day.”

Sierra: Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?

Annelie: Good question. The science background and a lot of the historical background is real. I think there are a lot of real life experiences in every fiction book, be it in the shape of a scene or a character. But teasing that apart is rather too private to do in public.

Sierra: Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Annelie: I read everything I could get my hands on as I was a child (except school books, ha!). The small library in our village was read through too fast. My mother had a lot of books, too. But I still ended up reading many books several times. My kids cannot get past a book store without going inside, and they make up stories all the time. I guess there is some crazy book nerd gene running in our family. So, to answer your question – no, there is not one or two author or books that influenced me in a particularly strong way. They all did.

Sierra: Do you ever experience writers block?

Annelie: Not yet, but I’m fairly new to fiction writing and quite sure it will happen some day.

Sierra: Is there an author that you would really like to meet?

Annelie: I think Louise Penny, I love her lyric description of light.

Sierra: Will you have a new book coming out soon? If so, can you tell us about it?

Annelie: Yes! The sequel to my first book will be titled The Fall and will be released in summer. I’m about to start a crowd funding campaign together with Carrie from The Stormy Petrels. We want to raise money to be able to translate The Devil’s Grin into German and to pay a top notch editor for The Fall. So hold on to your armchair! The thing will probably hit you like a bomb.

Sierra: If you could go back and do it all over again, is there any aspect of your first novel or getting it published that you would change?

Annelie: Hm… I don’t think so. Uh! One thing: I would have ignored my troll from day one and NEVER replied to her “comments”. Yes, that’s the only thing I would have done differently. And yes, she is reading my interviews.

Sierra: Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Annelie: DO IT! Be thorough with editing. Get a beautiful cover. And publish! Never! Loose! Hope! Be creative, let it out, and share it with your readers. Don’t expect to get rich. Don’t expect much at all. Just share and give what you have. The payoff will come.

Sierra: Is there anything you would like to say to your readers and fans?

Annelie: I’d like to thank everyone who read the book. I’d like to thank the ones who paid for it, the ones who recommended it to their friends, the ones who posted reviews on Amazon, Goodreads, and LibraryThing. And guys – you made my days! Before I started writing, I didn’t think much about authors, let alone commenting on their work (who the heck do I think I am to criticize, right?). So maybe you guys don’t know it yet, but your feedback is so very important for me to get it right, to be encouraged to keep going, and to simply put a big fat smile on my face. THANK YOU!

Check out my review of “The Devil’s Grin” here:
https://simpletasteforreading.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/the-devils-grin-by-annelie-wendeberg/

16008164

Leave a Reply

