My First World Book Night America 2013: You can never stop sharing the stories, books and literary awareness.

wbn

 

My first World Book Night America was successful, despite the fact that no one actually came to the library (where I set up my table) for World Book Night America.  We had done some press releases for the event.  No worries,  I found some patrons to give books away too that are only ever there to check out DVD’s or use the internet!  I am hoping that next year when I sign up to be a giver again, that going out to the stores in my small town might get me a different audience.  I was wanting to do this at the library this year, thinking people will start to learn about World Book Night and how awesome it is!  The book I gave away was “The Phantom Tollbooth” by Norton Juster.  Along with my World Book Night things, I also had a spot for my blog!  I was getting entries for my featured author of the month, Helen J. Beal’s giveaway for her signed copy of “Thirty Second Before Midnight”.  I had several people take my bookmarks too with my blog information on it!  A local lady stopped over at my table and was asking about my blog, she is getting ready to publish a book herself and was interested in getting it reviewed and to get her name out there!  I am trying my hardest to spread literary awareness around my town, which I thought World Book Night America would be a huge hit!  Next year I will be going out on the town and trying new places.  To bad I won’t be able to carry around cupcakes and cookies like I had last night at my table!  All in all, I feel like I did make a difference in my town.  You can never stop sharing the stories, books and literary awareness.  Reading is a huge part of my life and I hope to plant the seed in parents, children and young adults.  Reading can be fun and exciting, you just need someone to hand you your first book.

If you would like to be a giver next year, you will need to sign up for the newsletter at http://www.us.worldbooknight.org/

I encourage you to do so.  No matter how little you think you are helping out your community, there is nothing like the feeling of knowing you are sharing your love of reading with someone who hasn’t ever considered picking up a book or reading something of interest to them!

Here’s to spreading the love of reading, person to person!

2 thoughts on “My First World Book Night America 2013: You can never stop sharing the stories, books and literary awareness.

  1. I applaud you. Had intended to stop by but completely slipped my mind. So sorry no one showed up. I also believe in promoting reading. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

