The Blood Gospel (The Order of the Sanguines Series #1) By James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell

15818164

“Even a white lily cast a black shadow.”

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

I received this book from my boyfriend for Valentine’s Day (the best boyfriends give gifts like this!) and I was very excited to read it.  I had seen it at the book store and was grabbed by its cover, but didn’t pick it up at the time.  To my surprise, my boyfriend found the cover intriguing also, thinking it was right up my alley.  I have not read any of James Rollins or Rebecca Cantrell before, so I wasn’t sure what to expect.  To be honest I didn’t even know what the book was about untill I read the cover flap and started reading!

The within the first few pages there was a note from James Rollins to Anne Rice (one of my favorite authors) and the note said “To Anne Rice: For showing us the beauty in monsters, And the monstrous in the beautiful.” This was another red flag to me that I knew this book was bound to be great…let me just say, by the time I finished the book, I had dubbed it the best book I’ve read in a very long time!

These two best-selling authors take on the legend of the Vampire in this first book of “The Order of the Sanguines Series”.  The story brings together some characters from different backgrounds completely, including Priest, Solider and an Archaeologist.

Following an earthquake in Masada, the Vatican sends a priest by the name of Rhun Korza to investigate the ancient ruins of Masada, the fortress that had been the last stand of Jewish resistance to the Romans.  He has to call upon the best Archaeologist, Erin Granger and a military man named Jordan Stone.  The earthquake was devastating, being a tourist spot, lots of lives were lost.  The earthquake opened up the mountain and the trio, priest, soldier and archaeologist descend into its core to investigate.  The find a shocking secret, a hidden burial site within Masada and the remains of a young girl, clutching a Nazi medallion.  The three are attacked by an army of undead, revenants, strigoi is what they call them, but we would call them…vampires.  Legend decreed that this chamber contained a book believed to have been written by the Lord Himself, in His own Blood – the so called “Blood Gospel.”  The priest, archaeologist and soldier are sent on a desperate venture to retrieve this lost gospel and save mankind from the overwhelming evil that never dies – the vampire.  I sure would not want the undead having this book in their hands!  Erin has a hard time grasping what is going on, she is used to reality and what seems to be a dream, is becoming totally real.

This story involves a dark Vatican secret – the Order of the Sanguines.  In the Rollins and Cantrell story, the Sanguines, a religious order of converted vampires, do subsist on the Blood of Christ, which satisfies their desire for human blood.  The authors do give some vivid descriptions of the sacred sites of the Holy Land and Vatican and their interpretation of the resurrection of Lazarus is imaginative!  At the beginning of each chapter there is a verse from the Bible, as the story is going, you start to read each verse and your thoughts begin to transform them and relate them to Vampires and secrets.

For those who never tire of the vampire legend, which has attained a certain literary immortality, here is another tale of the legend of the undead, “The Blood Gospel.”  This isn’t even comparable to Twilight or any other Vampire book I have read in my life time.  This story is full of secrets being unraveled and it seems as the world my turn over to the darkside with nothing left for the humans to survive.

Like I said before, this book is the best one I have read in a very long time, I would recommend it to anyone who has never ventured into the legend of the Vamipre and to those who dwell in their stories!  I cannot wait for the next book in the series of “The Order of the Sanguines”.

23_blood_gospel_heroe0

One thought on “The Blood Gospel (The Order of the Sanguines Series #1) By James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell

  1. Pingback: Innocent Blood (The Order of the Sanguines Series #2) By James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell | A Simple Taste for Reading

Leave a Reply

