The Brown House by Christy Sloat

“My friend Lyn had told me about the history of the Brown’s.  She told me about how the little girl died of influenza and after her death the mom sort of went a little crazy.  Then she told me how even when the house was abandoned the corner room light would be on.  How people would hear little girl screams coming from the house.” I paused to make sure she was following before I continued.  She was.  “Then, last night on the way home form her house I saw a light on in the room so I ran to the house.  Once I got upstairs the light was still on.  Then…” I stopped myself.  It sounded ridiculous coming out of my mouth.

 

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

This book was sent to me by the author.  I found her on goodreads.com.  This was a very fast read for me, as I love a good ghost story.

We all know that there are some houses out there that are just down right creepy.  Brylee Branson had just moved from California to a small town in New Jersey.  Completely opposite weather from what she was used to. As if her life isn’t hard enough, going from Miss popular at school to Miss nothing due to money troubles, her and her family move into “The Brown House”.  A house everyone claims to be haunted.  Brylee can’t fathom that this house is haunted.  I little eerie yes, but haunted?  Until things start to happen that she cannot explain.  She confides in her new found friends, which happen to be her new neighbors.  Together, they try and figure out what is going on.  Brylee see’s the ghost of a little girl, hears voices and has encounters with a woman.  Not only can she see these ghost, but she has also found a friend that just happens to be the ghost of a girl who messed with the “Brown House” curse and died.  Her new found talent of being able to see ghost is starting to effect her emotionally as she is now getting phone calls from these ghost.  As her and her friends try to crack the curse and free all the people of past, they discover that they have opened up a new can of worms.

This is a classic haunted house story with a wicked twist! The only part I didn’t enjoy was, towards the end, I felt the story could have gone on another 5-6 chapters.  Instead it went to an epilogue and I felt like the story was getting really exciting until then.  I felt like it could have been wrote out to finish out the book.  I do see that it says “book one” on the cover, can’t wait to find out what happens next!!

Leave a Reply

